top of page

Reflection

Collin Brinkhoff

4-29-17

Reflection

Wenzel

This class taught me a wide variety of things that changed the changed way that I think about normal day processes. For example, I now look more in depth into everyday events and marketing material in order to look further into the thought processes that come along with the advertisement and the reason they distributed it as they did. To do this, I look into the different aspects of the marketing. For example, I now look at the different ads and the different techniques that they use and then apply my knowledge of analyzing genres to determine why they create the advertisements and what their goal is. One of the other main skill that I learned is the ability to create genres of my own. For this we learned several different things that are all important when deciding to create a genre. The first and most important step to creating a genre is figuring out what the purpose of the message you were trying to send is. After that, you then have to determine who the target audience for the piece is. This is important because we will have to format the genre in such a way that it is appealing to the audience.

Because of this my everyday thought process has changed when looking at every day pieces that I see around campus or even just around the town. I now look into the genre and first of all look to see what it is advertising for. After that I am able to understand why they put the genre where they did and what their purpose was in placing the genre in this location. I am most thankful as I am now able to think critically about things that otherwise would have slipped my mind. Overall I believe that ENC 2135 taught me that no matter what something may appear like on the outside, if you analyze it you will always find further meaning behind the piece.


bottom of page